Books That Changed Me

Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff and It’s All Small Stuff by Richard Carlson: This book was recommended to me by my sister. She said, “the only thing I learned from this book is that you need to read it.” Now that I did, I can’t agree more.
This book is simply life-changing. I read many self-help books that contributed largely to my personality and behavior, but none were as life-changing. It taught me to become more patient and to accept life as it comes to me.
Basically, when I read this book, nothing bothered me anymore, whether it be people in my life, unexpected turn of events, or misfortunes. I became exactly like old wise people who are always calm and collected and would keep on smiling even if you dump a bucket of water on their heads. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little, but, seriously, after reading the book, my attitude towards whatever problems life throws at me was a shrug and an “okay.”
Here are a few examples of how the book improved my life:
– I don’t drive too fast anymore (and I still can’t believe that all the stress driving caused me was because of that little detail; I don’t hate driving as much anymore).
– I became more tolerant of the people I don’t like.
– It doesn’t bother me anymore if I didn’t complete my to-do list.
– I don’t get angry or upset as much as I used to.

Rising Strong by Brené Brown: This book taught me to become kinder and have a more positive perspective on life in general. It helped me deal with my emotions correctly and maintain my relationships with people by being honest without hurting their feelings.
It also helped me understand and know myself better. I had a lot of Oh-my-God-that’s-so-true moments while reading it.


The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan: After reading this book I completely stopped eating processed food or that containing any substances derived from corn. How can I when processed food is just a means of getting rid of the corn surplus? We are not dumps! And how can I contribute to the profit of companies that don’t actually care about our health (most processed food is unhealthy) and care only about their profit?


Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway by Susan Jeffers: the only thing I learned from this book was in the title; The whole book just discusses it and gives examples that help convince you further. It’s just one sentence, but it was so powerful. I just needed to know that it was alright to be afraid. Even the most confident and fearless people were afraid at the beginning. They just don’t show it.


Crucial Conversations by Kerry Patterson: This book had a profound impact on my life. It taught me how to have difficult conversations that would in normal circumstances turn into an argument or a fight. After I learned how to do it, I was never afraid to tell people anything, because I was confident I can do it the right way, leaving no hard feelings.


How to Talk to Anyone by Leil Lowndes and How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie: these books also taught me important social skills and how to convince people to do what I want without yelling and repeating myself.

Leave a comment